WhatsApp Steps Back From Locking Un-Updated Accounts

WhatsApp Steps Back From Locking Un-Updated Accounts

A few weeks ago we had reported on WhatsApp’s controversial Terms of Service update. Users who did not accept the new ToS would have had vital features and access to their chat logs gradually restricted. However, it seems that WhatsApp has taken a step back from this decision, recently announcing that they would not be going through with any feature restrictions.

What happens after the effective date (15 May 2021)?

Considering the majority of users who have seen the update have accepted, we’ll continue to display a notification in WhatsApp providing more information about the update and reminding those who haven’t had a chance to do so to review and accept. We currently have no plans for these reminders to become persistent and to limit the functionality of the app.

WhatsApp Info Page

Although your chats are no longer at risk, it never hurts to take preemptive action. See our WhatsApp Emigration Guide to learn how to save and export your chats with contacts and groups.

Comments

No comments yet. Why don’t you start the discussion?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.